Martinů/Hindemith – Works for Viola (2018)

P. Hindemith – Sonata for Viola and Piano op.11/4

B. Martinů – Sonata for Viola and Piano

B. Martinů – Rhapsody Concerto for Viola and Orchestra

P. Hindemith – Trauermusik for Viola and Strings



Kristina Fialová – viola, Martin Levický – piano

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Tomáš Brauner – conductor


Hindemith and Martinů make for a well-matched pair in this viola disc, with a sonata and a larger-scale work apiece. The former’s Sonata, Op.11 No.4 was his first for his own instrument, at which he excelled as an international soloist and chamber player, and it has retained its place as one of his most outgoing and splendidly conceived sonatas. The excellent Czech player Kristina Fialová plays it with acumen and intelligence, not least in the second movement’s theme and variations, which is wittily and athletically pointed, and in the deft dynamics of the finale. Here her restrained refinement is matched by flowing elegance and pianist Martin Levický plays with comparable assurance...
Musicweb International 1/2019


"…Kristina Fialová has a velvety tone, perfect for the works’ lyricism…"


"…Kristina Fialová’s refined taste matches up with her interpretive approach to the compositions selected and gives her temperament, natural virtuosity and emotionally engaged tone of her instrument an opportunity to shine…"

MusicWeb International

"…Kristina Fialová is universally acclaimed for her expressive and lively interpretation, brilliantly cultivated tone, and coherent general conception. Her flawless technique and immense musicality did not take long to manifest themselves…"